A Sad Day for California Foie Gras Lovers. Thank You Oregon.

8 Sep

A California law goes into effect as of July 2012, making Foie Gras illegal in California. Looks like these folks got their way…

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/09/07/foie-gras-ban-california-_n_953067.html

(THIS IMAGE DOES NOT DEPICT MY BELIEFS, JUST TO BE CLEAR)

I never know how to answer people when they crack the door of the restaurant with their over sized ‘boyfriend’ wearing a utilikilt standing behind them to ask whether or not we serve Foie Gras. This happened a few times at my old job here in Portland and I always answered hesitantly, flinching slightly like I was preparing to take the blow to my face that just might take place at any moment. The response was basically either, “great, table for two” or, “fuck you waitress that has nothing to do with what’s served on your menu, you deserve to die a slow, painful death just like the ducks and I am going to yell it out loud, right here, every reason why”. There was even a mini protest on our patio and in the street that involved horse cops and all. I understand both sides of the fight here. I love animals, kids, things that are sensitive and fragile, but I have to say I also really love Foie Gras. It’s a specialty, it’s absolutely delicious, and in my eyes let it be an educated choice made by the eater.

For further knowledge on this topic, here is a very interesting article that I found a while back titled The Physiology of Foie: Why Foie Gras is Not Unethical. And don’t get me wrong, I know there are people out there fattening up these creatures in very unethical ways. This is just one side of it.

http://www.seriouseats.com/2010/12/the-physiology-of-foie-why-foie-gras-is-not-u.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+seriouseatsfeaturesvideos+%28Serious+Eats%29

I think it is important to understand where all the food we eat comes from, and the process it goes through before we get our hands on it. Hopefully those of us who decide to keep eating this delicacy can become more conscious of the treatment of the ducks from who we choose to buy it.

I hope this finds you well and my condolences go out to California…

Leave a Reply

