Chimichurri, Per Request

28 Sep

Chimi

The first time I ever heard of/tasted this delicious Argentinian herb marinade was a few years back with my old roommate Domingo in San Francisco. Domingo was one of those people who could make whatever random ingredients were in the fridge taste like a completely intentional and wonderfully thought out meal. Now that I think about it, a few of the most amazing things I have ever eaten Domingo created, specifically a prawn dish he made on my birthday years back. Chilean by blood, Domingo truly understood the art of spice and flavor, as well as just about everything creative. I think I have him to thank for my obsession of adding lemon juice to everything. A shout out to you my long lost friend and sending my love to you down under, I miss you dearly.

On my trip to DC this past weekend to see my very pregnant and beautiful sister, myself and dear friend Lynn prepared a meal for the whole family to enjoy. One of the plates I made was shrimp marinated in chimichurri cooked on a cast iron griddle. As promised, here is the recipe for this fantastic sauce.

I believe chimichurri traditionally has more parsley than cilantro, but I personally do the opposite. I also add the juice of lemon and lime. So for all of you by the book people, this is kind of a play-on-chimichurri, consisting of a bit more acid and a lot more cilantro.

This sauce is great as an overnight marinade, tossed in a roasted fingerling potato salad, or served as a topping for anything meat or seafood. Skirt steak+chimichurri= instant gratification. The acid in this sauce is great with anything fatty.

Alright, here she is.

Note: these quantities are not exact so taste as you go and balance as needed. It should be cilantro forward, acidic, slightly spicy, with a hint of cumin.

Ingredients:

  • 1-cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/2-cup chopped parsley
  • 2-medium cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2-cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4-cup red wine vinegar
  • juice of 1/2 lemon & 1/2 lime
  • 1- heaping tablespoon honey
  • 1/2-teaspoon cumin
  • Generous pinch of red chili flakes
  • Generous pinch sea salt, to taste
  • Finish with 1 teaspoon or so of lemon zest

Directions:

  • Combine herbs, garlic, olive oil, vinegar, citrus juice, honey, cumin, chili flakes, salt and lemon zest in a medium sized bowl. Mix together with a spoon and let sit for 15 minutes or so. Taste and season as preferred. Flavors will intensify with time so its good to let it sit before adding much more. Can be kept in the fridge for a couple of days. Serve with whatever you please and enjoy!

Stay tuned for more tomorrow…

5 Responses to “Chimichurri, Per Request”

  1. Claire 10/02/2011 at 5:31 pm #

    That sounds incredible! Would it be possible to keep in a jar and store in the fridge?

    • clofried 10/02/2011 at 11:05 pm #

      Yes, definitely. I would say you wouldn’t want to keep it for more than a week so. That being said however, just keep checking it and as long as it tastes good and looks alright, I would say you are good to go.

      Thanks for your comment and question!

  2. Sab 09/29/2011 at 10:20 am #

    Chloe-

    The meal that you and LDP prepared in DC was Ah-mazing! I am still dreaming about the Chimchurri sauce and the shrimp that was paired with it. From the bottom of my heart thank you for preparing such a grand meal and for posting the recipe so I can enjoy it all over again. A true treat!

    xoxo
    Sab

    • clofried 10/02/2011 at 11:11 pm #

      My pleasure! It was so great to see you and I look forward to seeing you in Atlanta.
      Send my love to San Francisco, and thank you again for reading the blog!

      All my love,
      Clo

  3. Cameron 09/28/2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Chloe!

    Love your blog – Michaela sent me the link. It was so nice to meet you at the shower last weekend. I’ll stay tuned for more of your yummy recipes!!

    Take care,
    Cameron

Leave a Reply

