The Basque Culinary Center

17 Oct

I lived overseas when I was younger back and forth for about two years. When I first came back to the states, all I wanted to do was go back. Now, over five years later, I have really grown to love this country and all it has to offer, as well as the opportunities that are available to you living in your legal land. About a year ago I decided it was time to run away again, time for something new. After a few impulsive nights of searching for fitting options abroad however, I decided that what I have going is good and there is no need to run just yet. During my research I stumbled across news of the then future Basque Culinary Center. I love Spain, and have always dreamed of going back to live again, so I have since followed the schools progress thinking I would keep it in my “future file”. Last month this University level Culinary School in San Sebastian with an all-star crew at its lead (Ferran Adria and Rene Redzepi to name a few) opened its doors to the first class going through its bachelors and masters programs. The school also offers shorter term classes for professionals and culinary enthusiasts.  The BCC focuses on gastronomy, research and creation, as well as business/restaurant management. By checking out the website you will quickly see that this school will be so much more than just a place to learn how to cook, as they emphasize the worlds food issues, nutrition, food culture and so on.  And surprisingly it’s all at a much less expensive cost than you would think, racking up to only 8,000 Euros per year. I think that it is so awesome that Spain now has a top notch center of their own, as in my opinion and the opinion of many others, they are the top dogs in the future of food.

If you are into this kind of stuff check out the site. You can translate it into English on the top right, or if you are feeling like practicing that high school Spanish of yours, here is your chance.

http://bculinary.com/public_home/ctrl_home.php

If you know of any off the wall culinary programs, feel free to share them with the crowd.

 

3 Responses to “The Basque Culinary Center”

  1. how to become a massage therapist 11/08/2011 at 8:22 am #

    Hello there. I discovered your blog by the use of Google at the same time as looking for a similar matter, your site came up. It looks great. I bookmarked your site: https://thekitchensinknw.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/the-basque-culinary-center/ and will check back often. Thanks for the awesome info!

  2. Ezequiel Benston 11/02/2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Helpful page and very informative. Thanks for taking the time to write it and post it!

  3. Jed Friedland 10/19/2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Wonderfully lyrical writing style.

Leave a Reply

